Crime Victim Compensation

Arizona Criminal Justice Commission




What is Crime Victim Compensation

» Provides financial assistance to crime victims

« Covers expenses of physical harm, mental distress, and/or economic loss
from victimization

* Does not require apprehension or conviction of offender

« The payer of last resort

« Administered by the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission (ACJC)

» Arizona is a decentralized program

« Each county has a compensation board

 Award decisions made at the local level




Fund Sources

 Federal Sources

Crime Victims Fund
- Federal Government grant monies
- Victims of Crime Act of 1984
- Criminal fines and fees
- Makes up about 1/3 of the program size

e State Sources

- Penalty Assessment
- Inmate work fees
- Unclaimed restitution

e Other Sources

- Restitution/Subrogation
- Donations
- Clerk of the Court interest monies




Who is Eligible?

 Victim of crime under Arizona or Federal Law

» Report the crime within 72 hours

» Cooperate with law enforcement

« Apply within 2 years of the crime

« Suffer economic loss not covered by a “collateral source”
* No contribution to victimization

 Victims need not to be residents of Arizona to apply

* Arizona residents victimized abroad
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What Does Victim Compensation Pay For?

« Medical costs — up to $25,000

« Funeral costs — up to $10,000

« Counseling — up to $5,000

« Wage loss — various levels of coverage, based on minimum wage rate
« Crime scene clean up of a residence — up to $2,000

» Transportation costs — up to $2,000

« Maximum award for any one claim is $25,000




Costs Not Covered

* Property Loss or repair

« Pain and suffering

« Attorney fees




Claim Process

« Completed application submitted to program
* Program investigates/substantiates claim
* Forward to the board for consideration
* Board must hear claim within 60 days
« Board approves/denies claim
« Approved awards are paid to claimant or provider

 Denials/reductions sent certified mail

« Claimant can request a rehearing of a board decision within 30 days




Decisions Boards Can Make

« Approve a claim in full

* Deny a claim

* Approve a claim at a reduced amount

« Table a claim until a future meeting

« If there are insufficient funds in program the Board may:
* Deny the claim

« Make partial award and reconsider later during the fiscal year

« Extend the claim into subsequent fiscal year




Contact Information

Arizona Criminal Justice Commission
1110 W. Washington, Suite 230

Phoenix, AZ 85007
WWW.azcjc.goVv

Heather Bohnet, Program Manager
Phone: 602-364-1168
Email: hbohnet@azcjc.gov

Dorinda Johns, Program Coordinator

Phone: 602-364-1175
Email: djohns@azcjc.gov
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